Nomination Due January 31st 2024

Calling for Nomination for 2024

Nominations deadline January 31, 2024
We are currently in the process of receiving nominations for the new class of inductees for 2024 and for our Special Awards.  The deadline for submissions is January 31, 2024.  Nomination instructions can be found on our website   . 
Before you submit a nomination, you need to contact the Hall of Fame first to obtain the revised nomination cover form along with instructions on what is to be included with the nomination. 
Please email or to request the nomination form.
Please be sure to include mandatory supporting documentation and letters of support with your nomination.  Incomplete nominations may not be considered.
Here are the categories of nominations for active outdoorsmen:
1. Outdoor Volunteer – Men and women who have given many years of volunteer service and accomplished significant things to help others, especially future generations, enjoy the outdoors.  These volunteers have truly given back more than they have taken.
2. Outdoor Professional/Volunteer is reserved for those who use their professional talents to support the causes of conservation and outdoor sports.  These individuals go above and beyond their regular job duties to “give back”, so that others can benefit.  Many also volunteer in addition to giving back through their professional careers.  This category also includes outdoor writers and authors.
In addition we have established the Pioneer Category
Since its creation, the New York State Outdoorsmen Hall of Fame has been inducting individuals who worked tirelessly to preserve our outdoor heritage.  The Pioneer category was established to honor these earlier sportsmen and women who did so much for sportsmen’s issues all across New York State. Many of these sportsmen and women are now deceased.
Special Awards
The New York State Outdoorsmen Hall of Fame has also established the following Special Awards:
Educational Program Award:
Designed for youth or youth programs, related to conservation programs.

Media Award:
The Media Award is used as recognition in special cases where a writer/author did something really special, beyond their regular duties.

Outdoors-person of the Year:
This award is presented to an individual or organization that has made a significant impact on conservation or outdoor sports. This may have been a specific project or several actions that have enhanced hunting or fishing or helped preserve our natural environment for future generations. These actions have typically been performed over a shorter period of time than the efforts of an inductee to the Hall of Fame.

Dave Pierce Memorial Award:
The Dave Pierce Memorial Award is given to someone who has done outstanding work with youth.

Extra Mile Award:
Conservation and Law Enforcement Professionals do an important job in protecting the state’s resources ranging from fish and wildlife to the health of the environment.  They regularly enforce the laws protecting fish and wildlife, monitor pollution, and much more. At times they even put their lives on the line.  The Law Enforcement Professionals serve as symbols of our natural resources and help educate the public on proper behavior.
Yet even with all of these responsibilities many of them go beyond the call of duty to help educate the public or create a new generation of ethical sportsmen and stewards of our natural resources.  This “extra mile” that they often go can take many forms.  They regularly make appearances at youth groups, speak at various meetings, act as mentors to youth hunts, fund many events, and help organize events to introduce people to outdoor sports.

Leave a Comment