Special Awards

These special award categories are marked by large wooden plaque and small plates displayed on the wall of the NYSOHOF Museum. They are given periodically to deserving individuals or groups. They are not considered induction into the Hall of Fame.

Educational Program Award:

Designed for youth or youth programs, related to conservation programs. Could be either a yearly or on-going project, (as above) etc.].

Past recipients of the Education Award:

2017 - Women in Nature Program

2020 - NYS Chapter of the National Wild Turkey Federation

2021 - Robert Ewald, creator of the “Outdoor Adventures” program in the Hudson Valley.

2023 - Jack N. Gramlich, educator, former nature center director and a member of the Central New York Land Trust


Media Award:

The Media Award is used as recognition in special cases where someone did something really special, beyond their regular duties.

Past recipients of the Media Award include:

1991 - John Pitarresi

1993 -Jack Moran

1995 - Bob Peel

1996 - Lou Raya

1997 - J. Michael Kelly

2003- Nancy Kobryn

2004 -John Jakubowski and Rick Pecci

2005- Linda Murphy

2013- Steve Piatt

Outdoors-person of the Year:

This award is presented to an individual or organization that has made a significant impact on conservation or outdoor sports. This may have been a specific project or several actions that have enhanced hunting or fishing or helped preserve our natural environment for future generations. These actions have typically been performed over a shorter period of time than the efforts of an inductee to the Hall of Fame.

Past recipients of the Outdoors-person of the Year include:

1986 -Jack Fredericks

1987- Dr. John Millett

1987- Jake LaBuz

1998- Sue Baum

1989- Lt. Dave Waymen

1990 -Edwin Slusarczyk

1991 -Dr. Ward Mellon

1991- John Pitarresi

1992 -Pete Bartholomew

1993 -John Page

1994 -Peter Sidle

1995- Keith Joslin

1996 -Chuck Sroka

1997 -Doug Pens

1998 -Jim LaFountain

1999 -Gina Schermerhorn

2002 -John Maciol

2003 -Jack Henke

2005 -Jon Brown

2008 - Lean To Rescue org.

2009 -Paul Delucia

2011 – Fish Creek Atlantic Salmon Club

2012 – Sportsmen Helping  Others Thru Sharing  (SHOTS)

2015 -Teri Maciag

2020 - Doug Stang

Dave Pierce Memorial Award:

The Dave Pierce Memorial Award is given to someone who has done outstanding work with youth.

Past recipients of the Dave Pierce memorial Award include:

1998 - Dave Pierce

2008 – Bob Fields

2014 - ECO Ricardo Grisolini

2017 – Scott Faulkner

2018 – Mike Kochanowski

2019 – William Lloyd

2023 - ECO Steven Lakeman

2024 - Justin Rejman

Extra Mile Award :

Conservation and Law Enforcement Professional do an important job in protecting the state’s resources ranging from fish and wildlife to the health of the environment.  They regularly enforce the laws protecting fish and wildlife, monitor pollution, and much more. At times they even put their lives on the line.  The Law Enforcement Professional serve as symbols of our natural resources and help educate the public on proper behavior.

Yet even with all of these responsibilities many of them go beyond the call of duty to help educate the public or create a new generation of ethical sportsmen and stewards of our natural resources.  This “extra mile” that they often go can take many forms.  They regularly make appearances at youth groups, speak at various meetings, act as mentors to youth hunts, fund many events, and help organize events to introduce people to outdoor sports.

The New York State Outdoorsmen Hall of Fame is dedicated to preserving our natural resources and enhancing outdoor sports.  Thus it recognizes the importance of efforts such as those that the Conservation and Law Enforcement Professional do regularly without fanfare.  It also knows that the Conservation and Law Enforcement Professional do a lot more than most people realize.

Therefore the NYS Outdoorsmen Hall of Fame wants to publicly recognize these men and women.   It will annually select deserving candidates and honor them at the annual banquet and with a plaque detailing their efforts.  Nominations may be sent to the Board of Directors of the NYS Outdoorsmen Hall of Fame who will determine the yearly award winners.

Past recipients of the Extra Mile Award include:

2015 - New York Conservation Officer Association (NYCOA)

2017 - ECO Scott Marshall

2020 - Lt. Steve Bartoszewski